Play Like a Girl (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Play Like a Girl By Misty Wilson, David Wilson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Misty Wilson, David Wilson (Illustrator)
$22.99
Pre-Order Now!

Description


Debut author Misty Wilson chronicles her seventh-grade experience as the only girl on her town’s football team in this empowering graphic memoir about teamwork, friendship, crushes, and touchdowns.

Misty never shies away from a challenge, on or off the field. So when the boys tell her she can’t play football, there’s only one thing to do: join their team and show them what she’s got.

But the training is rougher than she thought—and so are the other guys, who aren’t thrilled about having a girl on their team.

Middle school isn’t so easy, either. Misty wants to fit in with the popular kids, but they think a girl playing football is “weird.” Even her best friend doesn’t get it.

Can Misty find a way to score points with her teammates, make new friends, and show everyone—including herself—what it means to play like a girl?

“I am a huge fan of Misty and her courageous journey of staying true to herself. Readers will love her!” —Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series

“This is the book I wish I’d had as a kid. Misty’s passion for football and her fight to play in a male-dominated sport while balancing friendship and crushes makes for a winning read!” —Dr. Jen Welter, first female NFL coach, first female running back in men’s pro football, and founder of Grrridiron Girls

Praise For…


“Middle school drama hits hard in this coming-of-age graphic memoir… [that] will appeal to fans of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale. A sincere, genuine, and uplifting book that affirms the importance of being true to yourself.” — Kirkus Reviews

“I am a huge fan of Misty and her courageous journey of staying true to herself. Readers will love her!” — Terri Libenson, New York Times bestselling author of the Emmie & Friends series

“This is the book I wish I’d had as a kid. Misty’s passion for football and her fight to play in a male-dominated sport while balancing friendship and crushes makes for a winning read!” — Dr. Jen Welter, first female NFL coach, first female running back in men’s pro football, and founder of Grrridiron Girls



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063064690
ISBN-10: 0063064693
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: September 27th, 2022
Pages: 272
Language: English

We recommend