Author Events-Adults

Garrett M. Graff at the Hudson Library (Nov 27)

Garrett M. Graff will discuss his latest book, Raven Rock: The Story of the U.S. Government’s Secret Plan to Save Itself---While the Rest of Us Die, which focuses on the history of the U.S. government’s Doomsday plans spanning from the Cold War to today. Graff will shed light on the secret history of Raven Rock, a 650-acre compound, and the multibillion-dollar Continuity of Government (COG) program designed to protect top government officials in case of catastrophe.

Raven Rock: The Story of the U.S. Government's Secret Plan to Save Itself--While the Rest of Us Die Cover Image
ISBN: 9781476735405
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 2nd, 2017

Mark J. Price with Mafia Cop Killers in Akron (Dec 2)

From 1917 to 1919, terror struck the streets of Akron. As soldiers marched off to World War I and Spanish influenza ravaged the community, police officers faced a sinister threat. Murderous kingpin Rosario Borgia placed a bounty on officers’ heads for interfering with his criminal enterprises. Gangsters gunned down seven cops, killing five, in a series of brazen attacks over fifteen months. Author Mark J. Price chronicles the crimes, victims, gangsters and the relentless pursuit of justice in his new book, Mafia Cop Killers in Akron: The Gang War Before Prohibition.

Mafia Cop Killers in Akron: The Gang War Before Prohibition Cover Image
ISBN: 9781467137843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: History Press - November 27th, 2017

Lost Akron Cover Image
ISBN: 9781626195769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: History Press - July 20th, 2015

Laura Freeman at the Learned Owl Book Shop (Nov 25)

Hudson's annual Home for the Holidays event is Saturday, November 25th. Join us at The Learned Owl Book Shop from 1 to 3 p.m. to meet Laura Freeman, Record Publishing reporter and author. Her latest historical romance is "Impending Love and Capture". She will be signing it and her earlier books in the series, including "Impending Love and War", "Impending Love and Death", and "Impending Love and Lies".  All of the books in the series take place during the period of the Civil War.

M.A. Appleby with Journey of a Thousand Steps (Nov 4)

M. A. Appleby, author of the "Whisper of a Mystery" trilogy, returns to The Learned Owl on Saturday, November 4th, with the final book.

Journey of a Thousand Steps is the final piece to a family saga of treachery, mystery, and perseverance. Ellen will not let the memory of her son fade. As a distraction, her husband talks her into attending a Murder Mystery Party a neighbor is hosting. When the party doesn’t go as planned, another piece of their mystery is revealed, but it raises additional questions.

Journey of a Thousand Steps: Book Three Cover Image
ISBN: 9780692921340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: M.A. Appleby - October 12th, 2017

Scott Anderson with Psychobiotic Revolution (Nov 18)

Hudson author Scott Anderson will be at The Learned Owl Book Shop on Saturday, November 18th, from 1 to 3 p.m.  He will talk about and sign his book "Psychobiotic Revolution". The book, published by National Geographic, tells the story of a remarkable discovery by two Irish scientists.

The Psychobiotic Revolution: Mood, Food, and the New Science of the Gut-Brain Connection Cover Image
ISBN: 9781426218460
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: National Geographic - November 7th, 2017

J. Mark Souther with Believing in Cleveland (Nov 4)

Cleveland author J. Mark Souther will be at The Learned Owl Book Shop on Saturday, November 4th, from 1 to 3 p.m., with his book "Believing in Cleveland".  The book recounts the long, difficult history of a city that entered the postwar period as America's sixth largest, then lost ground during a period of robust national growth. But rather than tell a tale of decline, Souther provides a fascinating story of resilience for what some folks called "The Best Location in the Nation". 

Believing in Cleveland: Managing Decline in “The Best Location in the Nation” (Urban Life, Landscape and Policy) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781439913734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Temple University Press - November 3rd, 2017

Jake Hatmacher with A Secret Lies Deep (Oct 21)

Local author writing under the pen name Jake Hatmacher will be at The Learned Owl Book Shop on Saturday, October 21st, from 1 to 3 p.m. to sign his most recent book “A Secret Lies Deep”.  A blend of romance and fantasy, it is the story of a young woman who discovers secrets about her past. Her search for the truth causes a great deal of emotional anguish and physical difficulties.  

A Secret Lies Deep Cover Image
ISBN: 9781543242577
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform - April 26th, 2017


We recommend

Subscribe to RSS - Author Events-Adults