Library Events

VIRTUAL: Isabel Wilkerson at the Hudson Library [9/15]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Isabel Wilkerson on September 15th at 7pm. Wilkerson will be discussing her book Caste.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

Caste (Oprah's Book Club): The Origins of Our Discontents By Isabel Wilkerson Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9780593230251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Random House - August 4th, 2020

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • OPRAH’S BOOK CLUB PICK • “An instant American classic and almost certainly the keynote nonfiction book of the American century thus far.”—Dwight Garner, The New York Times


VIRTUAL: Bruce D. Jones at the Hudson Library [9/14]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Bruce D. Jones on September 14th at 7pm. Jones will be discussing his new book To Rule the Waves.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

To Rule the Waves: How Control of the World's Oceans Shapes the Fate of the Superpowers By Bruce Jones Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982127251
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Scribner - September 14th, 2021

From a brilliant Brookings Institution expert, an “important” (The Wall Street Journal) and “penetrating historical and political study” (Nature) of the critical role that oceans play in the daily struggle for global power, in the bestselling tradition of Robert Kaplan’s The Revenge of Geography.

For centuries, oceans were the chessb


VIRTUAL: Nancy Marie Brown at the Hudson Library [9/13]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Nancy Marie Brown on September 13th at 7pm. Brown  will be discussing her new book The Real Valkyrie.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

The Real Valkyrie: The Hidden History of Viking Warrior Women By Nancy Marie Brown Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250200846
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 31st, 2021

In the tradition of Stacy Schiff’s Cleopatra, Brown lays to rest the hoary myth that Viking society was ruled by men and celebrates the dramatic lives of female Viking warriors


VIRTUAL: Ann Cleeves at the Hudson Library [9/12]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Ann Cleeves on September 12th at 7pm. Cleeves will be discussing her new book The Heron's Cry.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

The Heron's Cry: A Detective Matthew Venn Novel (The Two Rivers Series #2) By Ann Cleeves Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250204479
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Minotaur Books - September 7th, 2021

New York Times bestseller Ann Cleeves returns with The Heron's Cry, the extraordinary follow-up to The Long Call, soon to be a major TV series, alongside her two hit TV shows Shetland and Vera.

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!


VIRTUAL: Susan Ronald at the Hudson Library [9/9]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Susan Ronald on September 9th at 7pm. Ronald will be discussing her new book The Ambassador.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

The Ambassador: Joseph P. Kennedy at the Court of St. James's 1938-1940 By Susan Ronald Cover Image
$29.99
Unavailable- email or call for Special Order request
ISBN: 9781250238726
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 3rd, 2021

Acclaimed biographer Susan Ronald reveals the truth about Joseph P. Kennedy's deeply controversial tenure as Ambassador to Great Britain on the eve of World War II.


VIRTUAL: Amanda Kloots at the Hudson Library [9/8]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Amanda Kloots on September 8th at 7pm. Kloots will be discussing her new book Live Your Life.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

Live Your Life: My Story of Loving and Losing Nick Cordero By Amanda Kloots, Anna Kloots Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063078253
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Harper - June 15th, 2021

Amanda Kloots bravely reflects on love, loss, and life with her husband, Broadway star, and Tony Award nominee Nick Cordero, whose public battle with COVID-19 and tragic death made headlines around the world.


VIRTUAL: Siân Evans at the Hudson Library [9/2]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Siân Evans on September 2nd at 7pm. Evans will be discussing her new book Maiden Voyages.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

Maiden Voyages: Magnificent Ocean Liners and the Women Who Traveled and Worked Aboard Them By Siân Evans Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250246462
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 10th, 2021

In an engaging and anecdotal social history, Siân Evans's Maiden Voyages explores how women’s lives were transformed by the Golden Age of ocean liner travel between Europe and North America.


VIRTUAL: Jeff VanderMeer at the Hudson Library [9/1]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Jeff VanderMeer on September 1st at 7pm. VanderMeer will be discussing his book Hummingbird Salamander.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

Hummingbird Salamander: A Novel By Jeff VanderMeer Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374173548
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: MCD - April 6th, 2021

Named one of NPR's Best Books of 2021

From the author of Annihilation, a brilliant speculative thriller of dark conspiracy, endangered species, and the possible end of all things.


VIRTUAL: Ann Hagedorn at the Hudson Library [8/30]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Ann Hagedorn on August 30th at 7pm. Hagedorn will be discussing her new book Sleeper Agent.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

Sleeper Agent: The Atomic Spy in America Who Got Away By Ann Hagedorn Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501173943
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 20th, 2021

Nominated for an Edgar Award​

This “historical page-turner of the highest order” (The Wall Street Journal) tells the chilling story of an American-born Soviet spy in the atom bomb project in World War II, perfect for fans of The Americans.

George Koval was born in Iowa.


VIRTUAL: Rosayra Pablo Cruz and Julie Callazo at the Hudson Library [8/26]

The Hudson Library will be hosting Rosayra Pablo Cruz and Julie Callazo on August 26th at 7pm. Cruz and Callazo will be discussing their new book The Book of Rosy.

*Note: this is a virtual event and you need to register to join. If you'd like to register, please click here.

 

The Book of Rosy: A Mother's Story of Separation at the Border By Rosayra Pablo Cruz, Julie Schwietert Collazo Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062941930
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: HarperOne - June 22nd, 2021

“Offers hope in the face of desperate odds” – ELLE Magazine, ELLE’s Most Anticipated Books of Summer 2020


Pages

We recommend