Jess Recommends

a young woman with brown hair and glasses sits in front of a tan wall. shes wearing an orange sweater and has a soft smileJess is currently a student at Kent State University where she is studying to receive a degree in English and a minor in LGBTQ Studies. She also interns with the SRVSS center at Kent State. When not at work, Jess enjoys cooking and playing cozy video games. At The Learned Owl, Jess is one of our booksellers.

 

 

 

Books: 

People We Meet on Vacation Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806758
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Berkley - May 11th, 2021

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! 


Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250027436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Square Fish - May 7th, 2013

See the Grishaverse come to life on screen with Shadow and Bone, now a Netflix original series.

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.


Written in the Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063000803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Avon - November 10th, 2020

"I was hooked from the very first page!” – Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of In a Holidaze

"This book is a delight." – New York Times Book Review


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Heart Principle Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593197837
Availability: Pre-Order Now!
Published: Berkley - August 31st, 2021

A woman struggling with burnout learns to embrace the unexpected—and the man she enlists to help her—in this heartfelt new romance by USA Today bestselling author Helen Hoang.


Crown of Feathers Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534424630
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - December 31st, 2019

“Absolutely unforgettable.” —Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series
“A beautifully told story about justice, sisterhood, and warrior women.” —Shea Ernshaw, New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep
“Epic in the truest sense.” —Quill and Quir


Beach Read Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984806734
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Berkley - May 19th, 2020

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF PEOPLE WE MEET ON VACATION!

“Original, sparkling bright, and layered with feeling.”—Sally Thorne, author of The Hating Game


Wild Embers Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316519847
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Hachette Books - November 14th, 2017

Discover a powerful and relatable poetry collection of love, loss, and healing -- perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Amanda Lovelace.


On a Sunbeam Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250178138
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: First Second - October 2nd, 2018

“Tillie Walden is the future of comics, and On a Sunbeam is her best work yet. It’s a ‘space’ story unlike any you’ve ever read, with a rich, lived-in universe of complex characters.” —Brian K. Vaughan, Saga and Paper Girls

Two timelines. Second chances. One love.


Room: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316098328
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - May 18th, 2011

The award-winning bestseller that became one of the most talked about and memorable novels of the decade, Room is "utterly gripping...a heart-stopping novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).
Held captive for years in a small shed, a woman and her precocious young son finally gain their freedom, and the boy experiences the outside world for the first time.


No Matter the Wreckage Cover Image
By Sarah Kay, Sophia Janowitz (Illustrator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781938912481
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - March 18th, 2014

"Sarah Kay is a fearsomely open and generous talent. In this collection she will give you moments so intimate and beautifully rendered you will come to know them as your own. An unalloyed joy from beginning to end." --Lin-Manuel Miranda, Tony Award-winning composer-lyricist of Broadway's In the Heights "Nowhere have I found such humble honesty laced with such beauty.


The Prince and the Dressmaker Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626723634
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: First Second - February 13th, 2018

Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride—or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia—the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion!


This Is How It Always Is: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250088567
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Flatiron Books - January 23rd, 2018

New York Times Bestseller
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

“Every once in a while, I read a book that opens my eyes in a way I never expected.”
—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)


People Magazine’s Top 10 Books of 2017
Amazon’s Best Books of 2017: Top 20


Call Me by Your Name: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250169440
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Picador - October 3rd, 2017

Now a Major Motion Picture from Director Luca Guadagnino, Starring Armie Hammer and Timothée Chalamet, and Written by Three-Time Oscar™ Nominee James Ivory

The Basis of the Oscar-Winning Best Adapted Screenplay


A New York Times Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
A Vulture Book Club Pick


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

This Printz Honor Book is a “tender, honest exploration of identity” (Publishers Weekly) that distills lyrical truths about family and friendship.

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common.


Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

NATIONAL BESTSELLER An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse—the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity. Soon to be a Max Original Limited


All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476746586
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 6th, 2014

*Winner of the Pulitzer Prize* A New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book* A National Book Award finalist *

From Anthony Doerr, the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning author of Cloud Cuckoo Land, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both


I'll Give You the Sun Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142425763
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Speak - October 27th, 2015

New York Times bestseller • Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award • A Stonewall Honor Book

The radiant, award-winning story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Becky Albertalli, and Adam Silvera


"Dazzling."—The New York Times Book Review


Ender's Game (The Ender Quintet #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780812550702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click for Details
Published: Tor Science Fiction - July 15th, 1994

From New York Times bestselling author Orson Scott Card, Ender's Game is the classic Hugo and Nebula award-winning science fiction novel of a young boy's recruitment into the midst of an interstellar war.


We Are the Ants Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481449649
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 16th, 2017

From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley comes an “equal parts sarcastic and profound” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) novel about a teenage boy who must decide whether or not the world is worth saving.

Henry Denton has spent years being periodically abducted by aliens.


Summer of Salt Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062493620
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - June 5th, 2018

Magic passed down through generations. An island where strange things happen. One summer that will become legend.

Practical Magic meets Nova Ren Suma’s Imaginary Girls and Laura Ruby’s Bone Gap in this lush, atmospheric novel by acclaimed author Katrina Leno.


The Miseducation of Cameron Post Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062020574
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 28th, 2013

The acclaimed book behind the 2018 Sundance Grand Jury Prize-winning movie


The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338227017
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - January 29th, 2019

With a welcome mix of humor, heart, and high-stakes drama, Sabina Khan provides a timely and honest portrait of what it's like to grow up feeling unwelcome in your own culture.

With a welcome mix of humor, heart, and high-stakes drama, Sabina Khan provides a timely and honest portrait of what it's like to grow up feeling unwelcome in your own culture.Fight for love.


What If It's Us Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062795250
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - October 9th, 2018

A New York Times, USA Today, and Indie bestseller!

Critically acclaimed and bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera combine their talents in this smart, funny, heartfelt collaboration about two very different boys who can’t decide if the universe is pushing them together—or pulling them apart.


The Meaning of Birds Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062824448
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - April 16th, 2019

Nominated for the Lambda Literary Award!

“An evocative story of the thrills of first love and the anguish of first loss. This will break you and heal you.” —Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’


Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062348685
Availability: Usually Arrives in 3-5 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 7th, 2016

Now a major motion picture: Love, Simon, starring Nick Robinson and Katherine Langford!

William C. Morris Award Winner: Best Young Adult Debut of the Year * National Book Award Longlist

"A remarkable gift of a novel."—Andrew Smith, author of Grasshopper Jungle


We recommend